Just Practice : Update accepted!

Wow, less than 24 hours and my update was approved.
Cool!

3 Responses to “Just Practice : Update accepted!”

  1. Damian Says:

    Hi Malcolm,
    Was looking for an email address for you, but this is all I could find. Thanks for the free app. I started using it properly today. I like it! I looked at the others and saw major faults with them all, it seems to me yours is the simplest and the best.
    Some don’t have metronomes, and some are all about ‘projects’ which can make sense in one way, but most of us are usually just practicing.

    Of course, I do have a few idea’s as to features I would love to see! But anyway who makes free apps probably has better things to do. One thing that I see as a little serious though is, and I’m not 100% sure of this, but, if you receive a call during a practice session, or accidentally hit the home button rather than save (ie – the only hard button on the phone), then your time and metro marking is gone. 😦 It’s not really a big deal but has happened to me a few times already.

    I have a few other ideas, but I’ll leave it there for now. Thanks for making my practice a little more interesting and easier to keep track of Malcolm.
    Best wishes,
    Damian

    • malcolmkavalsky Says:

      Thanks for the feedback. I am developing on an Ipod Touch, so I didn’t run into the call interruption bug. You are correct about the home button , so I will try see if I can catch that and do a quick save. I have a new update ready for uploading but will fix this first. Shouldn’t take long.
      Feel free to suggest new features, I do this project to satisfy my programming habit not for profit.

  2. Damian Says:

    Hi Malcom,
    It’s great to be able to speak to the developer of my new favourite app! Excuse the brevity, I’m writing on my phone. Here’s my suggestions:

    I’m not keen on the cancel button, it’s where a back button is and I would go there naturally when I’m changing pieces, could save not be a default and cancel somewhere down the bottom, or maybe have it not save if under a minute. I’m all into pressing as few butons as possible while I practice.

    Having a graph in logs would be exciting, but more importantly for now, is last seven days instead of a week view. On Sunday I only see Sundays practice where I want to see how I’m doing all week.

    So, I like having the target for a piece, but say I’m doing excercises in a book, I’m not going to want to fill my planning page with each excercise so I can have targets for each one, so I do away with targets and use my pencil, but what if it was more like a folder system. In the practice menu, I choose the book, and then within I can add the excercises I do. It would be neater, but the logs would treat them all as one piece. Already my practice menu is long, I could imagine it getting unwieldy. Like:

    bebop heads:
    Ornithology
    Oleo
    Au privave

    etc.
    Or

    Suzuki book one
    Ex 6
    Ex 9
    etc

    then! It would be really cool if you could go from one to the next with one touch!

    Just ideas though, it’s great as it is as I said.
    Best regards,
    Damian

Leave a Reply

