Musician’s Recorder, my new app.

One of the most important tools for a practicing musician is a good recorder, both audio and video. Fortunately, most phones today are quite capable enough, however in my experience using the generic camera app, or voice recorder app leaves much to be desired. So I developed this for my own use, and have decided to share it.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words …

title231x400.png

On the main screen you view your recordings sorted by date, composer, size and even rating (which you set of course). Just one button to start video or audio recording (the green one!).

Using the Android built in camera or audio recorder (looks like this):

record228.jpg

After recording, you must label the piece, and can add notes and your rating for it.

edit225x400.png

I include a comprehensive piece manager as well:

pieces225x400.png

Note that since, I make extensive use of the internal camera and voice recorder from the phone itself, I have limited the app to Android 5.0 and up, since in my experience the previous versions are too buggy.

I have uploaded the app to Google Play store. Please try it out and let me know what you think needs to be added/fixed/removed. Here is the link to the entry in the Google Play Store.

3 Responses to “Musician’s Recorder, my new app.”

  1. Steve Says:

    Hi Malcolm
    Does this supercede your Just Practice app which I found so useful in the past and am still using? Will this still give me a calendar and time record for my practice hours on the various pieces? Many thanks.
    Steve

  2. Malcolm Kavalsky Says:

    Hi Steve,

    This is not a replacement for JustPractice, it is a much smaller app specifically designed for recordings.

    I am working on a new version of JustPractice which should be out soon and will include some of the recording functionality of the new recording app.

  3. Steve Steve Harrison Says:

    Would very much welcome your planned updated version of Just Practice Malcolm. Please keep me on your notification list for this.
    Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

